Owning a specialty vehicle in Connecticut is more than just a hobby
Owning, maintaining, and of course, driving your specialty vehicle is more than just a weekend hobby. It’s a lifestyle cultivated through years of learning in the garage and studying the art of mechanics. If you’re anything like most collectors, you’ve invested countless hours of effort and sweat into making your special ride unique. North American Underwriters understands that when you’re cruising down the street, heading off to the beach, or turning heads at a local show, you want to enjoy your leisurely time without the strain of knowing if you have the right coverage.
Connecticut Teen Driver Laws
In Connecticut, 16 and 17 year-old drivers must get a learner's permit to practice driving. Connecticut drivers 18 and older do not need to obtain a permit to practice.
Drivers practicing with a learner's permit may only have the following passengers in the vehicle with them:
- Parents or legal guardians
- A licensed driving instructor and others riding with the instructor or
- One person giving instruction who is at least 20 years old and has had a valid driver's license for four consecutive years
There is no curfew for drivers with a learner's permit, but the driver must always be accompanied by a qualified trainer. Learner's permit holders must complete 40 hours of behind-the-wheel training and complete an eight-hour driving safety course before applying for a license. Parents or legal guardians must attend a two-hour class about teen driving laws with their permit holder.
How Much Commercial Auto Insurance Is Needed?
There is a variety of commercial vehicles on Connecticut’s roads at any given time. These can range from cars, such as those used for local deliveries, to large 18-wheeler trucks that transport goods across the country. Commercial buses, taxis, vans and construction vehicles are also part of the commercial vehicle family.
These different types of vehicles can have different insurance requirements mandated by the state. For example, company cars must meet the same liability requirements as passenger vehicles. In Connecticut, these are the minimums:
- $20,000 for bodily injury per person
- $40,000 for bodily injury per accident involving two more injured parties
- $10,000 in property damage coverage per accident
Other, larger commercial vehicles may have much higher liability requirements. In Connecticut, the requirements include the following:
- Freight vehicles of at least 10,001 pounds that carry non-hazardous materials must have a minimum of $750,000 in liability coverage.
- Freight vehicles of at least 10,001 pounds that carry moderately hazardous materials must have a minimum of $1,000,000 in liability coverage.
- Freight vehicles of at least 10,001 pounds that carry highly hazardous materials must have a minimum of $5,000,000 in liability coverage.
- Any commercial vehicle with a seating capacity of more than eight passengers must have a minimum of $1,500,000 in liability coverage.
- Any commercial vehicle with a seating capacity of 16 or more passengers must have a minimum of $5,000,000 in liability coverage.
Even if your commercial vehicle is not included in any of these higher minimum requirement categories, it is a good idea to purchase liability coverage in amounts that are much higher than the state’s required car insurance minimums.
Don't forget to bookmark auto insurance connecticut using Ctrl + D (PC) or Command + D (macos). If you are using mobile phone, you could also use menu drawer from browser. Whether it's Windows, Mac, iOs or Android, you will be able to download the images using download button.